Anxious

Academic Success

At the beginning of each semester, I always feel stressed and anxious. I feel like my academic success is reflective of my self worth. Everyone looks down on community college, people from my old private high school openly say that it’s where all the dumb people go. I know that community college is the only option for high school dropouts, and that even people with a gpa below a 2.5 can get in. However, that doesn’t mean that I’m part of that group of people. I can use the fact that the classes aren’t as challenging to my advantage; by boosting my gpa, I will become closer at achieving my career goals.

At my academically rigorous private high school, I was a B student. I was doing

okay

, but was never able to achieve a perfect 4.0. After I chose to leave the private school and become dual enrolled at the local community college and do homeschooling,I now have a 4.0 gpa. For once it feels good to feel like my work is paying off.

If I had stayed at the “superior” private school that I had previously attended, my gpa would be that of a B student.

Not only is my overall gpa higher now, but I also have many college credits on my résumé.
I stand my decision to leave, and I won’t look back. I don’t care if its not prestigious enough for my peers. I now see there’s no reason to feel anxious.

2 thoughts on “Anxious

  1. I was always a B student, through high school, college, and graduate school. There’s nothing to be ashamed of about getting Bs (though, really, I was a terrible slacker and could have gotten better grades if I really applied myself, but…). That you’re getting a 4.0 now is fantastic! In a year or two the fact that your friends went to a rigorous high school will be mostly forgotten (unless that rigor taught them something about applying themselves and self-discipline, and there’s no guarantee of that).

    One thing that bothers me about our school system is that the “universal” grading scale isn’t. A B at a tough school IS better than a B at a lax school, but on paper they’re viewed the same. As long as you don’t slack off and you really apply yourself, your As will probably better-reflect your achievement.

  2. Thanks :). I feel like people get too caught up in the reputation of the school, rather than how it will help them achieve their career goals. Community college isn’t the best choice, but in my situation it was either rack up credits at the community college, or wait a few years until I could afford moving to a big university and paying for day care for my daughter. So yeah; it’s just the best choice for me now at the time.

Leave a comment